CAFE RIO SALAD

_MG_99992015-09-07 10.48.16

We had some friends and the missionaries over for dinner on Labor Day.  I decided to make the infamouse Cafe Rio Salads.  If’t you’ve never had a bbq pork Cafe Rio Salad you must try them.  But just get it once so you can say you’ve experienced it, but after that, I insist on making them myself.  Because I think forking out $10 for something I can make myself-and make it better in my opinion 😉 – then I’m not going to spend the money. LOL.  But anyway, the recipe calls for waaaaay more sugar than I use.  I’ve altered the recipe a tiny bit, just to fit my preferences hence a lot LESS sugar.  So here ya go!

YOU WILL NEED

Approx 4 lb pork roast

1 can coke (regular)

1/2 cup sugar

1 can enchilada sauce (red)

1 can diced green chilies

1 bunch cilantro

1 can black beans

1/2 can tomato sauce

2 limes

1 tsp cumin

1 cup rice

1 packet hidden valley ranch mix (original dressing NOT dip mix)

2 tomatillos

1 c buttermilk (if you don’t have this, just add 1 Tbl vinegar to 1 c regular milk, let sit for 5 minutes)

romaine lettuce

HOW TO MAKE>>>In crock pot, combine roast with 1/4 c water, can of coke.  Cook on low until pork can be pulled apart.  Add red enchilada sauce, green chilies and sugar.  Let sit for another hour or so.

DRESSING>>>Combine juice of 1 lime, tomatillos, half the bunch of cilantro, ranch packet, and buttermilk and one jalepeno (optional)  in blender.  Best if served after being chilled for 20 min.

RICE>>>Add 2 c water to 1 cup white (jasmine is my fav) rice in pot.  Once boiled add juice of 1/2 lime, and 1 Tbl freshly chopped cilantro.

BLACK BEANS>>>Combine 1 Tbl olive oil and 1 tsp cumin in sauce pan.  Add beans & tomatoes sauce.

 

Take a flour tortilla (HOMEMADE are the best—-I’ll post my homemade recipe soon), on top layer the pork, beans, rice, lettuce, then dressing. ***You can also add guac, cheese, pico and tortilla chips on top if you want.  I just typically don’t have that much energy…that’s a lot of work!

ENJOY!!!

xo, let me know if you like these kinds of recipes in the comments below ❤

 

Leave a Reply

