INDULGENT CHOCOLATE CAKE

Have you tried the Ghiradelli brownies?  Not the plain ones, but the ooey, gooey chocolaty bites of heaven?!  Well these taste EXACTLY, I mean exactly if not BETTER than those.  I watched and learned as my dear friend Mary made these from scratch this afternoon.  This girl can seriously make anything!  I don’t eat a lot of sweets, and I don’t even like cake, but these taste incredible that I make an exception….by eating two!!! Ha ha ha.  The real name of this cake is “Texas Sheet Cake” (yeah it’s technically a cake, but it taste like brownie)

1441661311328

2015-09-07 13.49.362015-09-07 13.49.28
2015-09-07 13.59.27 2015-09-07 14.34.47

Of course I forgot to take a pic of the finished product, I just got so excited to eat it, I dove right in without thinking. LOL.  But believe me when I say it was delicious!  ***Thanks to Mary McLean for participating in this post 😀  And here is how you make these little slices of heaven ❤

*BTW, as Mary put it “This recipe is not for the faint of heart”  aka, there’s a reason why it tastes so good lol 😉

::CAKE::

2 c Flour

2 c Sugar

1/4 tsp salt

4 (heaping) Tbls coco powder (unsweetened)

2 Sticks butter

1 c boiling water

1/2 c butter milk

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

::FROSTING::

1 3/4  c Butter

4 Tbls Coco

6 Tbls milk

1 tsp vanilla

3 1/2 c Powdered sugar (confectioners sugar)

DIRECTIONS—–>(Cake)

Combine flour, sugar, salt in bowl, set aside

Heat butter, then mix in coco.  Add mixture to boiling water.  let boil for 30 sec then remove from heat.  Add to the bowl of flour, sugar & salt.

Mix 1/2 c butter & eggs, then beat together, then add to main mixture.  Mix for 30 sec, then add baking soda & vanilla.

Pour into greased cake pan.  Bake for 20 min at 350 degrees.

DIRECTIONS—–>(Frosting)

Melt butter, then add coco.  Once combined, turn off the heat.  Add milk & vanilla.  Next add powdered sugar.  *TIP: Use hand mixer

Best if you frost the cake while still hot.  Which is my favorite part!  The cake is extra gooey 😀

Bon appetit!

7 thoughts on “INDULGENT CHOCOLATE CAKE

  1. Thanks for featuring my cake! You definitely captured the divinely indulgent-ness of the cake. Is indulgent-ness a word? I don’t really care if it’s not beacause this cake is that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

