MONDAY MUNCHIES: BLACK BEAN BURGER

2015-07-08 14.17.32

OH MY GOODNESS!  I never realized just how EASY it is to make your own black bean patties.  And man are they DELICIOUS!  Seriously, SOOO flavorful.  I remember going to a place w/Daniel, for our anniversary, he got a black bean burger, I got a guac & bacon burger (I mean you can’t go wrong w/bacon right?!) and his tasted so much BETTER!  I was like, no way!  Black bean patties are where it’s at!  They were always one of those things that deep down you know must be simple, but you tell yourself they’re difficult and time consuming…maybe more just as an excuse to NOT eat healthier, haha, who knows.  But I love being healthy, and I don’t care what most people say, FRESH & HEALTHY is better tasting 90% of the time.  Maybe it’s just my preference, but I honestly believe that once you have unhealthy foods (usually takes about 3 days) out of your system (and so long as you’re not replenishing it with junk and toxins) your body will like healthier choices better.  So anyway, today’s black bean patty venture started because we were almost out of our protein options for lettuce wraps and burgers (if you read last week, you know that we’ve been on a lettuce wrap kick).  So I was like, “hmmm what do we have?  We have tons of bags of dry beans”  fyi you can totally make these with canned beans, in fact I recommend it if you want something fast, but I wanted to use up our dry beans.  So I decided to whip out the ol’ crockpot and make some beans.  Then making the patties is basically the same procedure as making meat loaf—–I think—-ha, I haven’t actually ever made meat loaf either, but I’ve watched my mom make it a million times!

INGREDIENTS (*this recipe is w/making beans from scratch—-you can use canned)

2 c black beans

3 cloves garlic

1/2 c cooked broccoli

1/2 c cooked cauliflower

cumin, steak seasoning, garlic salt, chili powder (all seasonings are to taste)

1/2 c bread crumbs

1 egg

COOK BEANS

Soak the bean in large bowel with lots of water (well over the top of beans) for approx 24 hours (until beans are starting to split and color fades.

PATTIES

  • Combine garlic, broccoli, cauliflower in food processor or blender.
  • Mash beans in medium size bowl w/fork, add seasonings.  Mix in veggie mash, add bread crumbs and egg.  Finish mixing.  (mixture will be soft)
  • Use griddle or frying pan over medium high heat.  Lightly coat with nonstick spray.
  • Take handful amount of bean mixture, pack as tightly as possible (mixture won’t hold shape well, but will become firmer after cooking).
  • Cook for 1-2 minutes, flip, and then you can press down with spatula to get a better patty form if that makes sense 🙂
  • Cook each side once more briefly (mainly to ensure firmness and even heat throughout)

Top with favorite condiments and ENJOY!

xo

Leave a Reply

