DIY Dining Table

2015-06-06 16.15.25

Since we’re living in a temporary, might I add small place right now.  I didn’t want to splurge on a nice big (last us the rest of our married life) dining table.  We actually had a nice one when we first moved here, but our first apartment didn’t even have a dining area…so we sold it, but that’s another sad story 😦  Anyway.  I decided to have fun and get creative.  Even try DOING one of the many Pins I have for a change.  So thank you Pinterest, you came through.  I seriously went homemaker happy!  I refurbished another table, a shelf and a chair all in the same day!  Seriously, it’s a “Once you pop, the fun don’t stop” sort of deal.

This is all I used

White oil based paint $8

1 can primer Walmart $7

Paint roller Walmart $4

Table $10 Yard Sale

2015-05-20 12.10.38

From here it’s pretty self explanatory.  The primer made it so I didn’t have to sand the table first.  In some cases you don’t even need primer.  My table had a laminated finish, so that’s why I did.  The primer dries pretty fast (like 30 minutes—-maybe less), then I just went for it with the paint.  All in all the project took me about 2 hours, because I had little baby to keep entertained at the same time.  You can also see that I repainted a $10 chair from the thrift store.  But I’ll post about that later.

k2-_f7ad8b94-c951-44ef-9daa-d7b443063642.v1

When painted something that will be wiped down a lot, be sure to use an OIL BASED paint 😉  I just got mine at Wal-Mart

xoxo

One thought on “DIY Dining Table

Leave a Reply

