MONDAY MUNCHIES: PROTEIN PANCAKES

*Can also be gluten free*

2015-06-08 13.30.21

I don’t normally eat pancakes, because I never feel satisfied….or like I was nourished…and well let’s face it, pancakes aren’t typically nourishing….BUT the other day I was having breakfast with my friend Jessica, and she made some pancakes, and they tasted soooo good. This morning, I thought MAN, why can’t I have some nourishing pancakes that I don’t have to get at Whole Foods for $$$$$. So I decided to get creative, because Kylie loved the pancakes we had the other day too, and I’ve been trying to feed her more solid foods that are healthy.

With a few small adjustments, this is what I came up with.  And they tasted so good (even Daniel who doesn’t like pancakes, liked them).  AND they were HEALTHY!

INGREDIENTS

1 1/4 C Flour (you can use gluten free)

1/4 C Vanilla Protein Powder

3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon coconut sugar

1 1/4 C Almond Milk

1 Egg

1 teaspoon Vanilla extract

3 Tablespoons Coconut Oil

*For the oil you can use butter or canola oil, also you can use regular sugar if that’s all you have.  I just wanted them to be as healthy as possible 🙂

TO DO

Combine all dry ingredients first.  (Flour, protein powder, salt, baking powder, sugar) Mix together using a whisk.

Add the rest of the ingredients (milk, oil, egg, vanilla extract)

Whisk together until the batter is smooth and runny.  Tip:  make sure there are not baking powder chunks, you get those in your pancake and YUCK!

*Cook like regualr pancakes.

I topped mine with butter, berries and honey.

ENJOY!

2015-06-08 12.37.04

Turkey bacon is also delicious!  HOT CHOCOLATE recipe found HERE

2 thoughts on “MONDAY MUNCHIES: PROTEIN PANCAKES

Leave a Reply

