SIMPLIFIED HAPPINESS

 

IMG_2174

IMG_2171

IMG_2172

IMG_2173

It’s MAY!  Can you believe it?  This year is flying by so fast.

So anyway, we’re getting settled into our new place, and I’m having an absolute blast doing so. 🙂  Remember how when we first moved to Texas, I mentioned tossing ten bags (at least) of random stuff?  Well, I figured after doing that, I wouldn’t have to for a long time to come.  But oh no, think again.  I swear we got rid of half of our apartment!  Now I’m not exactly the most sentimental person when it comes to keeping memorabilia, in fact I LOVE getting rid of clutter (it seriously lifts a weight off my shoulders and relaxes my mind).  Lately I’ve been making a conscious effort to simplify my life.  Now that can mean many different things for different people.  For me, it’s basically only keeping things that:

  • Make me happy
  • I use on a regular basis
  • Are practical (in my mind holding on to 3 empty binder because “we might need them one day” makes no sense, because we NEVER use binders)

Pretty much the question I asked myself when on the fence about an item was “when was the last time I used this?”  And if it was before we moved to Texas, I tossed it.

My friend Jessica shared a quote w/me recently, and I’m going to paraphrase, but it went something like “the more stuff you have, the less time you have to enjoy it”

Keeping things simple has been such a blessing.  Not only did having fewer possessions make the move easier, but decorating was easier as well.  My closet looks classy rather than cluttered (NOTHING feels cluttered for that matter). All of my make-up/bathroom products fit on the back of my door rather than a plastic container, two drawers, makeup bag, box and makeup case (I’m talking about those LARGE ones that pageant girls carry).

That’s all I have for y’all today.  Thank you so much for reading.  sorry if what I write occasionally sounds confusing haha, I like writing as if I’m talking to y’all directly.  That’s what’s so great about blogging I think.

Leave a Reply

